SCORM

Rebo the Degu
Unable to find API Adapter problem

Hi,

I'm a newbie to SCORM and to Moodle, so please forgive me if I'm being a bit slow here ...

I've built a SCORM 1.2 package which uses the attached script to find the API (script is adapted from code in the ADL SCORM 1.2 standards documentation).  I'm receiving the error "Unable to find API adapter" when I try to launch the package in Moodle.

Are there any fellow code monkeys out there who are more experienced with SCORM development and can tell me whether this script should work in Moodle as it stands?

Also, how does Moodle determine which SCORM standard the SCO is using?  I assume it uses the manifest metadata?  A quick look at the api.php code (in the SCORM module) suggests that the SCORM 1.2 API is loaded by default, but in that case, how would I go about loading the 1.3 API (again, I assume it looks at the SCO manifest, but which part)?

Many thanks in advance for your help,
Geoff Martin

Average of ratings: -
Rebo the Degu
Re: Unable to find API Adapter problem

Hello again,

Just to say I've now solved the problem.

It seems that any resource which calls the API needs to be defined as "sco" not "asset" in the manifest (e.g. use the resource element attribute 'adlcp:scormtype="sco"').

Otherwise the API handlers are never loaded into the SCORM player, and any function call to use them will fail.

I hope that's of use to someone - I know several other people on the forum have mentioned getting the same error.

Geoff

PS: this discussion applies to SCORM module version 2005102800 - the latest release at the time of writing.

Picture of Pedro Guevara

Hi
What if the resources are defined as "sco" and I still get the API message?

Thanks

Picture of brent simpson

What browser are you using? My experience with this error message in the past is that it's often related to the browser, mostly Internet Explorer.

brent.

Picture of Andrew Winter