Converting InnoDB tables to Barracuda with OVH shared server

Converting InnoDB tables to Barracuda with OVH shared server

by Matt Cany -
Number of replies: 2

Hi,

During my last upgrade (Moodle 3.3) I had a warning message who told me I need to upgrade my database (Converting InnoDB tables to Barracuda).

I tried to do it on my own (knowing I am not a developer but learn quickly) so I logged to my shared server via SSH etc.

Here is the code line I used (the config.php file is good, I already checked the end and the path):
$ php www/admin/cli/mysql_compressed_rows.php --fix

Error code: dmlwriteexception

!! access denied; you need the super privileges for this operation

I have been dealing with the support of the server provider (OVH) during the past few days, made good progress until I hit a wall because they cannot give me super privilege access or SUDO access via SSH (because it is a shared server...).

They say I can use a Moodle on their shared server, so I believe other people do it as well because it is very convenient. They also strongly advice me to post on this forum to find the answer.

So is there a way to force the update with a basic user privileges?

Thanks for your help!

Matt

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Matt Cany

Re: Converting InnoDB tables to Barracuda with OVH shared server

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Run the command with the switch ''--showsql".  It will generate the SQL that is required. You can then copy that and use it in your MySQL client when logged in as the 'root' user. 

In reply to Matt Cany

Re: Converting InnoDB tables to Barracuda with OVH shared server

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

+1 to Howard's suggestion, but ... a catch 22 ... and this is directly related to OVH support.