Teaching with Moodle

Problem-based learning

Picture of Nissrine Ghannoum
Problem-based learning

Hello , I am a postgrad student doing a research on developing scenarios in problem-based learning using Moodle and I want to experiment in Moodle itself.

1- How to create problem scenarios in Moodle?

2-Moodle tools that support problem-based learning . What are the benefits/liabilities of each ?

3- How to test its effectiveness ?

I get an admin test account .

Appreciate the support.

Average of ratings: -
Mary Cooch
Re: Problem-based learning
Documentation writersMoodle Course Creator Certificate holdersMoodle HQParticularly helpful MoodlersTestersTranslators

Hello there and good luck with your studies smile Which Moodle activities have you already explored regarding problem based learning (so we don't duplicate what you have already found)?

Hello Mary and Thank you .

I've worked on Moodle Quizz and forum but still puzzled .

Tim at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary
Core developersDocumentation writersParticularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developers

I think that Problem-based learning is all the activities you tell your students to engage in. Which technology you use to scaffold those activities is largely irrelevant. I heard a good presentation at the last UK MoodleMoot about using simulations in business education, and their top advice to people who wanted to try it was "you need really good story-telling so that students will buy into the scenario". In fact, they had paid a novelist to help them, and they felt that had been a really good investment. Here is the recording of their talk: