Moodle draft backup files

Re: Moodle draft backup files

by Tim Gildersleeve -
Number of replies: 0

Hi Ken

I may be wrong but it sounds like you may have taken offence at my "shudder", no offence was meant.  I simply did not want to encourage to idea of placing a potentially unknown file in a web accessible location.  It doesn't matter how well a machine is protected, the fact that you are able to access a remote Moodle install means it is not isolated and only an isolated machine is ever "safe" for such an activity.  Part of the knowledge of how to protect systems you mention (to me) would be not pointing a web browser at an unknown file.

I have been using Moodle for around 10 years, but only managing this for the last 2.  A lot of these issues stretch back for several years as they were not viewed as an issue when the system was small.  As a consequence, while the every day management of Moodle is no problem, sometimes I come across something like this where I could use some community advice.  I have over 20 years Linux experience, running first on an old Slackware that was installed via floppy disks using Kernel 1.3, so yes, I know how to safely run things, but in that knowledge is also the realisation that nothing is "truly" safe, and some things are best left not done.