Getting my school to host a Moodle Server

Getting my school to host a Moodle Server

by James Steerpike -
Number of replies: 11

As a teacher, I have been running Moodle on a shared host for half a year and I think I  have gained the basic skills to install and  administer Moodle. Now I want to persuade my school to host an installation and I am wondering how hard it would be for them.

I have a discarded machine about 7 years old with 4Gb of Ram which should be equivalent or better than my shared host. I will configure this myself but IT will have to add it to the school network and assign it an IP address. I would want to be able to putty into this machine for maintenance without wanting access to anything else.

IT may surprise me by offering full support and a new server but I expect some resistance. Technically it sounds straightforward but is it is not an area I know much about.

Could anyone comment on how difficult it would be to add a Moodle server to an existing web site?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to James Steerpike

Re: Getting my school to host a Moodle Server

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Seeing as you're asking... setting up Moodle is easy enough but running a web server (especially in a school) is a responsibility you may well not want. 

I would advice you to "sell" Moodle properly and have it set up on a properly maintained server. Do you really want to worry about security, updates etc.?

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers