General developer forum

Retrieve a parameter from mod_form and use it in view.php

Picture of Jo We
Retrieve a parameter from mod_form and use it in view.php

Hi Community,

I'm new to moodle plugin development and on task to develop a plugin with certain functionalities. Breaking it down into small steps my first goal is to create a plugin that can show another Page based on the "select" made in the activation of this activity_plugin inside a course.

Therefore I created a select form in "mod_form.php" to select between 3 Options:

$simaids = Array(
'aid1' => 'Simulation 1',
'aid2' => 'Simulation 2',
'aid3' => 'Simulation 3',
);
$mform->addElement('select', 'simaids', 'Simulation', $simaids);
So if one Option is selected there should be a value iE 'aid2', this value needs to be added to an URL that will be shown in "view.php" via:

$simulation = file_get_contents('https://myurlexample.com/'.'$simurl');
echo $simulation;
So depending on the option the URL differs.

The current challenge for me is to retrieve the parameter from "mod_form.php" and use it in "view.php".

I checked for a soultion and found many possible solutions which I hadn't had success using until now. These solutions are:

• require_once mod_form.php and stating the variable setting it to be equal to $simurl
  • $_Session - as I am not sure if it will work for a user who is just inside the course and clicking on the plugin
  • POST and GET as far as I understand it works with adding parameters to the URL which should nit work as the POST will only be done once when activating the plugin?
  • Saving the Form Select Input to some table which I can access from "view.php"(but I don't know if this requires to write a new function to create a table or if it's already stored somewhere