Installing and upgrading help

Can't install 3.3 locally on Windows

Picture of Pierre M
Can't install 3.3 locally on Windows

Hi,

I'm totally new to Moodle, and I'd like to first install it locally on my Windows machine. I downloaded the latest stable version (3.3), created the moodle database in mysql with utf8mb4_unicode_ci as collation, added a user to it, and created my data folder.

When I launch the install process from the browser everything works fine until I get to the PHP and MySQL checks, where it stops with the following compulsory tests :
- mysql_full_unicode_support#File_format (where I'm asked to convert the tables to barracuda),
- mysql_full_unicode_support#Large_prefix (where I'm asked to activate the large_prefix setting).

The thing is, no tables have yet been created in my database. So running the mysql_compressed_rows.php script doesn't do anything.

Additional info :
I'm using Moodle 3.3, in French.
I have WAMPServer running on a Windows 7 machine, with PHP 5.6.18 and MySQL 5.6.17 .

Thanks in advance for helping me out.

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Usman Asar
Re: Can't install 3.3 locally on Windows
Particularly helpful MoodlersPlugin developers

Pierre, I would have very much recommended using windows installer package rather than installing individual components and then installing moodle, as in installer package everything comes pre-set.

But if you want to continue current installation, then use commands in this documentation.

https://docs.moodle.org/33/en/Administration_via_command_line#Converting_InnoDB_tables_to_Barracuda

Picture of john attwood

I would recommend using Oracle VM Virtualbox with a moodle image already installed and learn how to use it in Linux. This will be much more valuable to you in the long run. You also could use VMware player for free as well. 

poseypic
Core developersTesters

https://docs.moodle.org/33/en/MySQL_full_unicode_support#Steps_to_upgrade