A question bank for many different quizes?

A question bank for many different quizes?

by Carl Brewer -
Number of replies: 8

Moodle 3.2.3, and I'm new to Moodle! (very!).

I have a set of exams to prepare sample questions for, somewhat complex.

I have seven subjects, which have easy, moderate, and hard questions, depending on the level of the course - imagine grade 1,2 and 3, sort of.  Close enough anyway smile

I have for grade 1 and 2, all the subjects combined into one quiz - grade 1 has just the easy ones, grade 2 has easy and moderate ones

For grade 3, the subjects are tested separately and have easy, moderate and hard questions

So, I will have 21 different types of question!  Easy grade 1 subject 1 through to hard grade 3 subject 3

I want to be able to put together random quiz'es for grade 1 - so all 7 subjects but only the easy questions, grade 2 - all 7 subjects easy and moderate questions, and grade 3, seven separate quiz'es, one per subject, with easy, moderate and hard questions.

I'd rather not duplicate questions over and over, but would prefer to have a pool of them, tagged in some way that they would get selected appropriately for each grade and for grade 3, each subject.  Ideally also selecting a set number of questions per subject in the grade 1 & 2 tests so that each quiz has a fair number of questions from each subject - not needed in the grade 3 quiz, as it has separate quiz'es per subject - but it would need a fair number of the harder questions - hard to describe!

Is this something that can be done with Moodle's built-in quiz module? If so, any recommendations as to what documentation to read?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Carl Brewer

Re: A question bank for many different quizes?

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers