Developing an Adaptive Module

Developing an Adaptive Module

by Daniel Schwenzer -
Number of replies: 2

Hello everyone,

i hope someone can help me with a problem im having with Moodle Development.

I am currently starting to work on my master thesis about Adaptivity in eLearning and one idea was to develop a pluging that helps users navigate through given course content in moodle.

So the basic idea is to set up a small course with some few different topics and corresponding sub-topics and have other students browse through those on their own. Afterwards the plugin should use the log files generated during the first browsing session (and additionally some info about the users knowledge level via some sort of quiz) to generate recommendations on what topics and sub-topics they should examine next.

The problem is that im not sure how to go about developing such an extension for moodle. I have basic knowledge in php coding but the most practical work in that regard was developing some simple webpage with different mysql db interactions, so i dont have real experience in developing a plugin to a web system like moodle.
Ive already gone through several developer documents and small tutorials like these tutorials about how to create your own blocks

https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Blocks
https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Blocks_Advanced 

and this one about how to create your own plugin

https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Tutorial#Add_content_to_your_page.

Still these did not quite help me figure out the next steps to developing my plugin.
For example one way to help with the navigation might be one or two buttons at the bottom of the currently viewed topic page that dynamically link to the respective topic pages id like to recommend to the current user, yet i couldnt figure out where to implement the code for such a button or where to implement the code for the algorithm that changes the buttons link depending on the given parameters.