General developer forum

Displaying data from other database

Picture of Anton Hollands
Displaying data from other database

Is it possible to display data from a database that is not in the vanilla moodle? More specific, if have another web application (Security Shepherd) where student can perform various tasks which they get scored for automaticaly. The admin or teacher on Moodle should be able to view userscores and usernames from the Security Shepherd application or database.

I hope that my question is clear and I would be grateful if someone could help me out. Thank you smile

Ps: I'm a college student doing an internship. (this question is related to my internship assignment)

Average of ratings: -
Tim at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary
Re: Displaying data from other database
Group Core developersGroup Documentation writersGroup Particularly helpful MoodlersGroup Plugin developers

Are you able to modify Securiy Shepherd? If so, one approach would be to modify it to support the LTI (learning tools interoperability) standard. That makes it easy to link to the tool from systems like Moodle, and then Security Shepherd can pass grades etc back to Moodle.

http://www.imsglobal.org/activity/learning-tools-interoperability

If that is not possible, there is probably a hackier method that can be made to work.

Thank you for your response.

In theory, yes, I am able to modify Security Shepherd. The thing is that Security Shepherd is very complex and was written in Java. So it would take me much longer then the time of my internship to learn the Security Shepherd code.

I think I will specifiy my question a bit. So, I want usernames and userscores from the Security Shepherd databank (which I have access to) being displayed in Moodle. (This can just be an extra page and does not necessarly have to connected to a Moodle useraccount). In an ideal scenario the user from Moodle and Security Shepherd are interconnected, but I'm afraid I won't have the time for that.