advice structuring Moodle

advice structuring Moodle

by Andrew Bredhauer -
Number of replies: 4
I'm new to moodle and possibly stretching the boundaries of its use a little but would like to get some tips on how best to configure and structure it to work for my project.

I'm looking to use Moodle to support a behaviour change program that will be delivered face to face and individually over the phone. The program design will be managed centrally but the actual delivery will be outsourced to organisations who will provide their own instructors/coaches. I need to centrally manage the students and measure their attendance and track progress with various activities. Each "course" will have 6 sessions over 6 months and an organisation can run multiple courses at the same time depending on demand and how many staff they have.

Specific questions I have are

1. What's the best way to structure courses in this scenario? I'd like to have a centralised course template and the organisations would have limited ability to customise the individual course. I've looked at meta courses but not sure if that will do what I need. I've also looked at copying courses through backup/import but I'm concerned how this will impact the size of the Moodle db over time.
  2. How should I structure the organisations/instructors? I've looked at categories/groups and meta courses but not sure which way to go. I've also discovered iomad today but not sure how active its community is. Ideally organisations would be constrained to only seeing their own clients. An extra complexity is there will be a central call centre who need to be able to manage all clients across all organisations

Any tips welcome

Thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Andrew Bredhauer

Re: advice structuring Moodle

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers

Your questions should generate a number of suggestions from users here.  Here are some of my ideas.