Customizing Boost from a child theme

Customizing Boost from a child theme

by Alberto PM -
Number of replies: 9

Hello.

I'm working with Moodle 3.2.2, the Boost theme an a child theme that extends Boost.

I'm a newbie in theming and I try to make some little changes in Boost theme appearence using a child theme.

According with the information at https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Creating_a_theme_based_on_boost, I've created the minimun folders and files required.

Let's say I want to change the login page.I don't know what files I must include in my theme folder to override the mustache template from Boost.
This is what I've done till now.

1. I've changed my config file, so the code is the one showed below.
  2. I've created a layout folder and included the same login.php file as in Boost (I think this is not necesary, isn't it?)
  3. I've created a template folder and included only the login.mustache file, where I supose I must do the changes.

config.php 

name = 'dom'; $THEME->sheets = []; $THEME->editor_sheets = []; $THEME->parents = ['boost']; $THEME->layouts = [ 'login' => array( 'file' => 'login.php', 'regions' => array(), 'options' => array('langmenu' => false), ), ]; $THEME->enable_dock = false; $THEME->yuicssmodules = array(); $THEME->rendererfactory = 'theme_overridden_renderer_factory'; $THEME->requiredblocks = ''; $THEME->addblockposition = BLOCK_ADDBLOCK_POSITION_FLATNAV;

I supose when working with child themes I must only add in my theme folder the files that I need to change, isn't it?

I'll appreciate so much if anybody could tell me what are the files that I must include in my theme folder.

BTW, I've been taking a look at Waxed and Fordson themes. They are great! But I can't find the way they override something like this.

Thanks in advance!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Alberto PM

Re: Customizing Boost from a child theme

by Richard Oelmann -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers