Teaching with Moodle

Best Practice Assessment setup

Picture of Jackie Simmons
Best Practice Assessment setup

I have the following quiz/assessment to enter into Moodle.  What would be the best way to capture this and grade it?  I am new to moodle so some detailed instructions would be greatly appreciated.

"What are the two bases on which solids moisture can be reported?  Answer is dry basis or wet basis."

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Rick Jerz
Re: Best Practice Assessment setup
Particularly helpful Moodlers

I like to use multiple choice questions whenever possible since Moodle can automatically grade these. I like to randomly pick questions from a question bank, and then randomize the order of the choices.

For your question, you could have:

1) dry basis or wet basis

2) dry basis and heated basis

3) by temperature

4) acids and bases

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
Picture of lucia liljegren

You could also try pattern match questions.  They are nice if you want them to think up the answers rather than recognizing them in options.

Give this a try as the question:
What are the two bases on which solids moisture can be reported?  ____20x1____

(The 20x1 will create a 20 character long 1 row tall entry box.)

Then code to accept right answers.

Different people will put more or less complicated pattern matches. But I'd probably give credit for almost anything that had both "wet" and "dry" in it.  So in answer 1 I'd put

match_any(
match_mow(wet dry)
)
and give 100% for that.

For answer 2, I might do
match_any(
match_mow(wet)
match_mow(dry)
)
I'd give 50% for answer 2 and provide feedback that they got one of the two correct.

There are various other things you can do depending on what you are worried students might do in filling out the box.

Average of ratings: Useful (2)
Picture of Dave Sherwin
Particularly helpful Moodlers