Using a moodle course on my own PC

Using a moodle course on my own PC

by Emmanuel Dubois -
Number of replies: 3

Hi there,

I am a Professor in a university and I am using Moodle for almost all my courses.

I made a backup (got a mbz file) of one of my huge moodle course, containing hundreds of ressources: PDF, video, bank of questions, etc.

I would like to be able to open it and exploit it on my PC (because my account to the moodle server of my university will be removed as I am moving to another university).

I unzipped the MBZ file and I have got a set of xml files. I discovered some information about how to rename the xml file into the appropriate filename ... but in my case (more than 500 files) it just looks like a very bad joke ... (https://docs.moodle.org/24/en/Backup_and_restore_FAQ#How_can_I_extract_original_files_from_a_Moodle_backup_file.3F)

Could you please tell me how I could access all the ressoruces of a backup moodle courses on my own PC, i.E. without access to a moodle server. Is there a local moodle that can be installed easily ? a binding with another applicatin ? 

I am especially interrested in being able to read the banl of questions and list of answers ... but also find and use the video, PPTX, PDF, etc. 

Thanks for your help.

MAnu

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Emmanuel Dubois

Re: Using a moodle course on my own PC

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

There are installers for both Windows and Mac that will allow you to set up a moodle server on your desktop pc.  There are also applications like MAMP that do the same thing. 

You will need to know what version of Moodle your university was running if possible so that you make sure that you can restore everything.  If you want student data to be imported, this is especially important.  If they are running a current version, you should have no trouble.