Final Year Project Help

Final Year Project Help

by David Hodowany -
Number of replies: 6

Hi all

I'm totally new to Moodle platform development, not the platform itself as I have been using it for the last 3 and some years. A few unforeseen factors have contributed to the fact that first I'm doing my FYP on Moodle and second I'm doing it late so right about now starting to feel the pressure. As I've managed to catch up on some of the ongoing projects as my FYP is one of the four ongoing assignments I can spend the next two weeks working solely on the one based on Moodle. Despite the fact that I have been so far researching the documentation available on-line I am also giving it the initial go and post this on forum in hopes that there are some of the community members out there available to help out and shed some light on the where to start it and how to do it. The subject of my FYP is to create a mobile app for the Android environment based on Moodle platform or in other words create Moodle Mobile app for Android devices with additional data visualization and server push notification functionality. The actual app is going to be fairly simple as my supervisor is more interested in the data visualization aspect and how I handle Moodle API implementation. To begin with I'm planning on creating my app locally on  my laptop using APACHE and MySQL (MariaDB) but in the end I want to move the server to remote location using Amazon Web Services. I will appreciate any help or "hand holding" through-out this project as it is firstly the most important project in my career so far, and secondly I'd love to get better at understanding and improving my skills with PHP. I also believe that by doing so I might be able to start some sort of a trend for the future Moodle contributors where they can start their initial training and understanding of Moodle by developing projects using the platform while being lead by the actual Moodle developers. I also hope that this topic will hel