Upgrade plugin to Open Badges specification 2.0

Upgrade plugin to Open Badges specification 2.0

by Kamen Ivanov -
Number of replies: 7

Hello,

I'm a project manager from a company called NashTech. We've been contracted by the department within Open University that manages the OpenLearn website to support the website. 

A new version of the Open Badges specification was published at the end of 2016 - https://openbadgespec.org/

Our client would like us to update the badge plugin to support the new specification and submit the code to the community. I believe the aim is for existing badges to continue to work, but to have the option to issue badges that follow the new specification.

I will ask the developers from NashTech who will do the work to get involved in this discussion, but I wanted to start the conversation and ask for your thoughts and suggestions.

Thanks,

Kamen

Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to Kamen Ivanov

Re: Upgrade plugin to Open Badges specification 2.0

by Jon Bolton -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers
I think that's a very welcome development. Be good for you to tie in with Simon Coggins too.
In reply to Jon Bolton

by Kamen Ivanov -

Hi Jon,

How do I find out what Simon Coggins is doing? I can't see a recent post from him here.

Thanks,

Kamen

In reply to Kamen Ivanov

by Jon Bolton -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers

Apologies Kamen - I was away at the weekend and responding too quickly! Simon and Jake are working on the (currently broken) connection between Moodle and the Mozilla OpenBadges Backpack - see MDL-57429 for more info.

In reply to Jon Bolton

by Tien Nguyen -

Hi Jon,

I'm Tien Nguyen, developer from Nashtech. I'm working for OpenLearn website that Kamen mention above.

The Open Badge specification 2.0 have many changes listed here: https://openbadgespec.org/history/2.0.html

Do the Moodle team have a plan to upgrade Moodle badge to apply these changes?