Test development tools for Moodle

Test development tools for Moodle

by Derek McLellan -
Number of replies: 11

I'm a courseware developer for a computer security company. My manager has asked me to find a tool that will allow us to development quizzes for our online lessons and which can be exported to Moodle. We are using Moodle as our LMS. Training levels 1--3 are open to the general public and levels 4--8 are restricted to employees and partners. The quizzes have ten to twenty questions. (We use a partner for our accreditation exams.)

Our requirements are as follows:

- Output to Moodle (critical)
- Output to HTML5 (important)
- Supports different question types
    - Graphical questions/ multiple exhibits (important)
    - Conditional branching (nice-to-have)
    - Simulation question (nice-to-have)
    - Multiple choice question (critical)
- Supports feedback to student (critical)
    - Supports multi-level feedback (e.g. at the answer choice, question, and test level) (nice-to-have)
- Multiple outputs (format and resolutions) (important)
- Supports workflow (e.g. writer completes, QA is notified, QA completes, editor is notified, etc.) (nice-to-have)
- Multi-language support (e.g. Japanese) (critical)

It is a little overwhelming as to the number of products out there. So far, I have found Respondus and Schoolhouse Technologies that support export to Moodle. Can anyone suggest other test development tools that can front-end Moodle? Thx, Derek.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Derek McLellan

Re: Test development tools for Moodle

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hello Derek and welcome to Moodle smile Perhaps you could first explain why, if the quizzes are to go into Moodle, you don't want to use Moodle's built in and highly powerful Quiz activity?

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Mary Cooch

by Derek McLellan -

Hi Mary,