Moodle research

Which Moodle logs to use in education research?

Picture of Alexander Brown
Which Moodle logs to use in education research?

Hello everyone,

I'm currently studying for a PhD in physics education at the University of Geneva, Switzerland.

I'm setting up a set of Moodle courses to use as a preparation course for high school students (ages 16-19) from around the world to use ahead of field trips to a physics lab. We're also planning on using Moodle courses as a "worksheet" for the students when they're on-site.

I'm curious to know what formal research, if any, has already looked into the use of Moodle in this sort of context. Specifically, I'm interested in knowing what variables people have used to measure their hoped-for outcomes. Has behaviour in Moodle been modeled onto "real-world" student characteristics such as motivation, curiosity etc? 

For example, if one looks at a students' logs, can one correlate "number of times a student viewed a certain activity" with "curiosity" ? etc etc

I am of course searching the academic literature in the traditional ways, but I'm wondering what I might be missing that the community might know about.

Thanks

Alex

Average of ratings: -
Tim at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary
Re: Which Moodle logs to use in education research?
Group Core developersGroup Documentation writersGroup Particularly helpful MoodlersGroup Plugin developers

You can correlate anything with anything, http://www.tylervigen.com/spurious-correlations. Whether that tells you anything about learning is harder to work out, as I assume you already know.