quiz for 150 students

quiz for 150 students

by ziv izackov -
Number of replies: 9

Hi

relatively new user in this amazing world of moodle, i am a windows sys admin.

i was asked to check the option of running a test for 150 CONCURRENT users using moodle. 

this is the setup:

cpu:  4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4800MQ 

ram: 32GB DDR3 1600MHz

hdd: 1x ssd 500GB

os: ubuntu server 16.04 LTS,  moodle version: 3.2.1+ database: mysql (5.7.16-0ubuntu0.16.04.1) php: 7.0.13.0.0.16.04.1

the test will be very big, 500 true/false questions (no videos or sound)

the server will be onsite, on a 1Gbps lan. and i don't need internet connection for the test. 

I have searched the internet for real world examples of big tests using moodle, but did not found anything similiar.

i would appreciate your opinion   and your suggestions to how to poll this off. 

is there a way to simulate the quiz in order to check it's performance before the exam? 

thank you for all your help.  

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to ziv izackov

Re: quiz for 150 students

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

As long as your apache/mysql and so on are properly tuned then I would imagine you are in with a chance. 

However, nobody can really tell you without you trying it as there are so many variables. Also, have you got any kind of monitoring on this server so you can see how it is performing?

Is there any way you can do a pilot to see how it performs? Also, is there any possibility of staggering the start of groups of students by a few minutes to avoid the huge hit on the server when they all press the button at exactly the same time?

In reply to ziv izackov

by ziv izackov -

thank you both for your inputs. appreciate it.