LDAP-module cannot connect to any servers: Server: 'ldap://192.168.x.x: 50000', Connection: 'Resource id #14', Bind result: ''?

LDAP-module cannot connect to any servers: Server: 'ldap://192.168.x.x: 50000', Connection: 'Resource id #14', Bind result: ''?

by Touqeer Ahmad -
Number of replies: 36

I'm new to moodle and using v2.9.2  on windows 7 and Can’t authenticate LDAP server with windows server 2008 R2

I have used various software like Softera LDAP Adminstrator and LDAP Explorer and they worked fine but when apply the same setting on moodle the authentication fails.

I don’t know where I’m mistaking

https://www.quora.com/unanswered/LDAP-module-cannot-connect-to-any-servers-Server-ldap-192-168-x-x-50000-Connection-Resource-id-14-Bind-result?srid=h21H7

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Touqeer Ahmad

Re: LDAP-module cannot connect to any servers: Server: 'ldap://192.168.x.x: 50000', Connection: 'Resource id #14', Bind result: ''?

by Leon Stringer -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

In the Distinguished name field (under Bind settings) you've got CN=Users,.... This needs to be an LDAP user account used for queries, but the name Users suggests it's a group. (I say "needs to be", I think some LDAP servers -- not Active Directory -- will allow anonymous queries).

Is the LDAP server an Active Directory domain controller or some other server (e.g. OpenLDAP)? For AD, User type should be set to MS ActiveDirectory (under User lookup settings).

In reply to Leon Stringer

Re: LDAP-module cannot connect to any servers: Server: 'ldap://192.168.x.x: 50000', Connection: 'Resource id #14', Bind result: ''?

by Touqeer Ahmad -

Thanks for replying, you are right it is an MS ActiveDirectory and I did changed in User type but the same problem still there.

by Leon Stringer -