Launch Moodle App from within another app

Launch Moodle App from within another app

by Ken Masters -
Number of replies: 5

Hi

I am writing an app for my class and the app includes activities not in Moodle.  I would also like my students to be able to launch the Moodle App (assuming they already have it installed on their devices) from within my app.  (I am relatively new to app development, so I hope my question is not too immature).  As far as I know, I need technical information, specifically The App's "ActivityClass" and "ActivityPackage".  Does anybody know this information or where to get it (I have tried looking through the Moodle tech documentation, but can't find it there)?

Thanks

Kem

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ken Masters

Re: Launch Moodle App from within another app

by Dani Palou -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Hello Ken,

the Moodle Mobile app ID is com.moodle.moodlemobile. The rest of the values should be Cordova default values. I'm not sure if that is enough for you.

Also, we support Custom URL Schemes to launch the app. That is, if a user clicks a link with protocol moodlemobile:// the app should be launched if it's installed.

Kind regards,

Dani

In reply to Dani Palou

by Ken Masters -

Thanks Daniel, I managed to figure it out after running Logcat on a rooted phone.  (Sorry, I should have posted a "Solved" response here).  Thanks anyway.

In reply to Dani Palou

by Ralf Krause -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Translators

Hi Dani,

what will happen when more than only one website is added in the Moodle Mobile app? A link starts with  moodlemobile://  but can you also chooze the website url and the user for the app?

Best regards,
Ralf

In reply to Ralf Krause

by Dani Palou -