Automatic update to Moodle 3.1.3 didn't work

Automatic update to Moodle 3.1.3 didn't work

by Matthias Giger -
Number of replies: 7
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers
I'm using Moodle on a hosted server with automatic updates.

Unfortunatelly the update from Moodle 3.1.2 to 3.1.3 didn't work.

As an administrator I get the following message:

"Mixed Moodle versions detected, upgrade cannot continue"

Is there a way I can fix this by running a "magic" script? 

Or at least, where do I get a zip file with the Moodle 3.1.2 code to bring the folder back to the pre-update state? On the download webpage I can only find the latest release.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Matthias Giger

Re: Automatic update to Moodle 3.1.3 didn't work

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

The only way to go back is to restore from a backup.  You will have to restore your moodle folder, database and moodledata folder from prior to the upgrade attempt.

You would be better off to take a fresh copy of the 3.1.3 code, copy over any plugins and the config.php file from your existing moodle code and have the new folder take the place of your old folder.  (Name the old folder moodleold etc and then name the new one moodle or whatever your codebase folder is called).  Do NOT copy over the existing folder as this will cause the situation you are in now.

One more reason to not use the built in installers!

In reply to Emma Richardson

by Matthias Giger -
Thank you for you reply.

I tried to install the new version directly but had a warning about the version of the database:
version 5.5.31 is required and you are running > 5.5.5.10.0.27
So I didn't proceed to update the database.