Moodle architecture overview?

Moodle architecture overview?

by Michael Hall -
Number of replies: 6
G'day All,

I'm an Australian primary school teacher of 10 years (generalist + ESL), and have also worked for 3 years as a PHP programmer and Linux networking bloke.

I've just discovered Moodle and am excited! I'm particularly interested in its use in primary schools, and hope to eventually contribute to its development.

While I have started reading code to understand Moodle, is there a technical document available anywhere that maps out Moodle's architecture from a coder's point of view? It would just save me time figuring out how everything fits together, which file includes which other files and why, etc etc.

Thanks
Mick

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Michael Hall

Re: Moodle architecture overview?

by Miles Berry -
Hello Mick, and welcome to Moodle!

I've been using Moodle very effectively in a primary aged school for the last year now and would be happy to share some of our experience.

There's an introduction for developers over at http://moodle.org/mod/resource/view.php?id=52
together with coding guidelines at
http://moodle.org/mod/resource/view.php?id=2932
There's also a list of of the core API functions at http://moodle.org/mod/resource/view.php?id=1267

I'm conscious that none of these is quite what you're after - perhaps others can help here - but they may be a good place to start.
In reply to Miles Berry

by Siva Prasad -
Hi,
Actualy i want to have clear understanding on the "Architecture of moodle". BUt no where here i found a detailed description on it. So please provide me the required.

Thanks in advance
Siva prasad
In reply to Michael Hall

by Mick Thorn -

hi fellow-Mick

I too am using moodle in a primary school - in the UK - how are you getting on with it?

Mick Thorn

In reply to Michael Hall

by Martín Langhoff -