Thank you for reply. I just had one of my teachers lose her permissions after I customised the Authenticated User. I have reset the Authenticated User role and they are back to 'not set' however now i am confused.
She shows to have authenticated role in the system (which is my site's set default), she is a Manager role in her training category however still lost all administration menus.
How do i slim the authenticated user down to bare minimum so that unless you are a student you can only view your profile and look at the front site pages but have students allowed more privileges and teachers keep their authorities in their categories.