iOS 10 Update causing issues with playback

iOS 10 Update causing issues with playback

by Jesus Castillo -
Number of replies: 21

Hi! We are experiencing this issue:

Embedded videos in scorm packages do not play. Apple devices who have updated to iOS 10 experienced this issue. No other devices do.

I'm not a developer . Hope someone is working on this issue.

Any body else is experiencing this problem?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jesus Castillo

Re: iOS 10 Update causing issues with playback

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

What format is the video? Is it only in SCORM or other uploaded videos?

There's not much of a clue here unfortunately...

In reply to Howard Miller

by Jesus Castillo -

It is only in SCORM. If you need I can give you access to an example.

Thanks!

by Mark Johnson -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

We've encountered this problem.  It appears that iOS 10 doesn't send the session cookie when requesting media files from pluginfile.php.  We've implemented a local hack to work around the problem for now, but it's not an ideal fix and only works with our own media player plugin.

Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to Mark Johnson

by Matthew Leathes -

Any chance of sharing details of that hack?

In reply to Matthew Leathes

by Mark Johnson -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Basically, we've modified our media player so that if iOS10 is detected, it encrypts the session cookie and send it as a URL parameter when it requests a media file.  We then hacked pluginfile.php to decrypt the data and use that if it didn't get a session cookie.

A bit nasty, but hopefully this is a bug in iOS10 that will be fixed.