Teaching with Moodle

Newbie question: Can Moodle be used to create live virtual classroom?

Picture of Tom GG
Newbie question: Can Moodle be used to create live virtual classroom?

Complete newbie to Moodle, and wonder if someone could help summarize the capability of Moodle to create live virtual classrooms. I would like to create a course with scheduled times such as Monday/Wednesday/Friday 2-3 pm, where students attend live, and I could go through the course material in powerpoint with a live webcam on myself, as well as have myself draw using a Wacom tablet (e.g. a digital "blackboard"). 

Can Moodle support this? Is it built into the core, or must it be attached as an add-on? If add-on, which ones are best? 

Generally I like to avoid add-ons because I never know if the developer will be around in a year or two to keep things updated. The worst case scenario would be adopting an add-on then finding out it no longer works because the core changed, and the add-on didn't adapt. 

Also, can the course be archived for students to access temporarily (a few days) if they miss a class?

Appreciate anyone's comments on this topic, to help steer me in the right direction. Links to further information would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Average of ratings: -
Mary Cooch
Re: Newbie question: Can Moodle be used to create live virtual classroom?
Group Documentation writersGroup Moodle Course Creator Certificate holdersGroup Moodle HQGroup Particularly helpful MoodlersGroup TestersGroup Translators

Why not get a free MoodleCloud site (link) and try out Big Blue Button? It is not part of Moodle but is open source and recommended to use with Moodle for exactly what you want to do. With the free MoodleCloud sites a limited version comes that you can try with up to 6 students at a time, but the session can't be recorded.

Of you can use  the included, increased options available with our paid-for option, Moodle for School