LDAP Enrolments request. Does this exist?

LDAP Enrolments request. Does this exist?

by Brian Jones -
Number of replies: 11
I am a moodle administrator in support of several professors, who each use moodle for several classes.

Here's what I'd like to see from an LDAP Enrolment plugin - it's a bit different from what happens now, but I wonder if what I want maybe exists elsewhere? Here goes:

As administrator, I want to point my entire moodle installation at an ldap server which holds generic LDAP information about every single user on campus. When my moodle installation looks to grab a list of "potential students", I want that list to come from the LDAP server. Just list all of the users in there.

What this essentially accomplishes is:

1. Gets me out of the job of maintaining a very large text file on behalf of the professors, who really should be able to do this themselves on a per-course basis.

2. Keeps professors from having to give out an enrollment key which is not unique to any one user, and thus can be handed out randomly without any way of knowing who handed out their key.

3. Allows profs to go to the "Enrol Students" page, and see all users in the ldap server in the "potential students" box. Then they can add students to their courses without my being involved whatsoever, and they don't have to send me email for any of this smile

I realize this feature wouldn't be useful for many online sites and other places, but if you're at a university and all of the possible students are in one place, it would seem that we should be able to use it! wink

thanks.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Brian Jones

Re: LDAP Enrolments request. Does this exist?

by Martín Langhoff -
This is actually available in Moodle -- just use the Auth/LDAP plugin for user authentication. Make sure you run auth_ldap_sync.php which will populate all the user accounts.

You don't need to use enrol/ldap after that, as LDAP does't contain enrolment info.
In reply to Martín Langhoff