Splitting out to have the database in its own server

Splitting out to have the database in its own server

by Tammy Moore -
Number of replies: 8

Our Moodle kept up reasonable well with demand last year, but growth and peak demand is pushing us to the need to get our database on its own server. I have never done that before, so I am not sure what I should be in  the market for for the size and power we will need and how much RAM it is likely to need.

Right now we have a 2 TB, 4 core, 32 GB RAM LAMP stack and Moodle 2.9. Moodle is the only thing on it. We have 11,00 accounts all new within the last year to year and a half with 3,000 being added in the last month. 

For the second server for the database we also will be going with a quad core. The RAM is very customizable. Is there usually a sweet spot and then after that you get less and less performance for the dollar or does it scale well and every dollar you spend you just keep on getting a big increase? 

Of course I am hoping for a blow my socks off increase in performance, but in reality what performance increases have you found with having the database on its own server? Will it be very noticeable?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Tammy Moore

Re: Splitting out to have the database in its own server

by Paul Verrall -

IMHO your priorities should first be CPU cores and disk performance. More cores and some SSD will return the most gains. I'd hazard a guess that 32GB of RAM would be MORE than enough... just make sure you configure you database process to actually use it.

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Tammy Moore

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers