Upgrade Issues - 1.9 > 2.0+

Upgrade Issues - 1.9 > 2.0+

by Joe Mars -
Number of replies: 18

Hello fellow Moodlers,

I was recently put in charge of a horrific task of working with a platform that I have never used before at my Charity... and also updating it to a much newer version.  So with that, let me get into it.

To start:

We are using Moodle v1.9.x

Hosting is being done by SiteGround.  I am also unfamiliar with a majority of SiteGrounds tools and capabilities due to my preference of working on the network and the hardware over web design and development.

SQL is a Language I really should learn but have had no need of it in the past until now with Moodle.

PHP is set to 5.3.29.

Issue Time:

So I was trying to follow a few different upgrade guides as everything is slightly different and the guide on SiteGround is for more recent versions.  However I can't follow an older guide as I don't directly have the same steps with it not being hosted here.

First thing I did was do a FULL backup of our web Root folder. Copy anything and everything.  Back is stored locally and untouched by any editing.

Second thing I did was update the PHP from 5.2.x to 5.3.29.   I did check 5.4 but it started to give a non critical error so i continued with 5.3.29.

Next I Backed up the SQL DataBase.

Fourth thing I did was download Moodle 2.0, unzip and Upload via FTP to the moodle folder on the site.   I was able to get the /moodle/admin page and it kept telling me to update the SQL DB to UTF-8. 

At this point I did get SiteGround support involved to help me Convert the DB to UTF-8.  They performed a Backup then add a new DB and restored with changing to UTF-8.

They said I would need to change the DataBase in the config file to the new name. I did (after backing up again) make a change to the Config.php and changed the DB name.