Databases: moodle and other DBMSs

Databases: moodle and other DBMSs

by Laurence Breeze -
Number of replies: 10
I work as a DBA for a educational institution that is considering using moodle. However, we already use the Ingres and MS SQL DBMSs and would prefer to continue to restrict the range of DBMss for practical reasons. Is there any possibility of either of these DBMSs being supported by moodle and if not what would be needed for us to do to get moodle working on either of these DBMSs? In addition if we were to "port" moodle to one of these 2 DBMSs would there be any longer term effort required?

TIA.

Laurence Breeze
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Laurence Breeze

Re: Databases: moodle and other DBMSs

by Helen Foster -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hi Laurence,

Please check the discussion MS SQL Server and Moodle v1.5. You may find other discussions in the Databases forum of interest too.
In reply to Helen Foster

by Laurence Breeze -
Many thanks for this link.

This is very interesting and useful. It appears that a number of people have done the work necessary for moodle to work with MS SQLServer. My understanding from the above discussion is that the postgres.php and postgres.sql files need to be converted to ado_mssql.php and ado_mssql.sql files. In addition a different version of datalib.php and setup.php are required.

Whilst we use MS SQLServer our main DBMS is Ingres which is now an open source database. If we were to do the work to create the necessary modules/libraries for moodle to work with Ingres could these be incorporated into the main moodle product ? I work for the Open University in the UK who are considering moodle as their VLE solution.

Regards

Laurence

by Helen Foster -