Teaching with Moodle

Avoiding the Scroll of Death - Best Practices - Current Techniques

Picture of Paul Lande
Avoiding the Scroll of Death - Best Practices - Current Techniques

I have been using the flexpage plugin since 2010 to create a tabbed page display to avoid the Scroll of Death.  A recent migration to a new vendor has had a dramatic negative affect on flexpage since it is not fully supported at the new host causing years worth of work to become no longer usable.

I am aware that using orphaned topics, a once popular technique, is no longer in favor.  I am looking for step-by-step video tutorials on alternative techniques for avoiding the Scroll of Death that do not rely on plugins.

Suggestion such as "have you looked at collapsed topics" or "have you looked at the Grid Format" are not helpful.  I am looking for ways to avoid the Scroll of Death that are not dependent on plugins.  I am also looking to avoid hours worth of work on trial on error.  I am hoping there are people who are using current best practices to avoid the Scroll Death and can point me to a tutorial that will show me how to implement it and what the final result looks like.

We are using Moodle 3.0.

Thank you.

Average of ratings: -
Mary Cooch
Re: Avoiding the Scroll of Death - Best Practices - Current Techniques
Group Documentation writersGroup Moodle Course Creator Certificate holdersGroup Moodle HQGroup Particularly helpful MoodlersGroup TestersGroup Translators

Hello Paul and thanks for posting here on the forums smile