using unicode IPA extensions in quizzes

using unicode IPA extensions in quizzes

by Nikki Swift -
Number of replies: 3

Hello

I have been running a phonetics course in webct for the last year, using phonetic fonts in multiple choice quizzes.  I would like to be able to allow students to type in the ipa fonts in their answers rather than doing multiple choice, but I can't do this in webct so I have tuned to moodle to see if it is possible.    One possibility would be to use a keyboard manager which would generate the required characters, but students can't control which font they are typing in - they would need to be able to select a unicode font.

I also though that perhaps a javascript character map would work, where students could copy and paste characters into the answer box.

Can anyone suggest any solutions?

Thanks

Nikki

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Nikki Swift

Re: using unicode IPA extensions in quizzes

by David Scotson -

I've had some experience of this using IPA and old english unicode ranges. Unfortunately the answer isn't simple because of various browser incompatabilities.

The issues I remember off the top of my head: