Best option for art museum program

Best option for art museum program

by Diane Denton -
Number of replies: 4

Hi  I am new to Moodle.  I am new to teaching as well.   I will be teaching an on-line class to high school students using a program from an art museum.  Do you have suggestions regarding the kind of computer I should have?  I will be teaching up to 60 students.  

Thanks for your thoughts.  

I appreciate it!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Diane Denton

Re: Moodle vs Blackboard

by Richard Oelmann -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Hi Diane and welcome

When you say you are using a program from an art museum, is that an already existing Moodle course, or are you planning to develop a Moodle online course from a teaching plan provided by the museum?

If the former (ie the Moodle site and course already exists) then all you, and your students, need is a reasonably decent computer with internet access - that can be anything from a desktop, through to a chromebook, tablet, or even if the learning materials are well designed a mobile phone.

If the latter, I would recommend taking a look at Moodle Cloud to set up your teaching course. It's a free service provided by Moodle HQ and will allow you to get used to using Moodle as an online teaching tool with none of the technical implications of hosting it yourself, or the costs of using a partner (which would be more suitable if it was for the museum itself creating a whole series of courses for bigger numbers of students etc).

Richard

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Richard Oelmann

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

I would like to second everything that Richard has said and if you like moodle cloud but don't like the adverts you can pay for them not to appear for a very modest sum of money (too small to buy a good coffee every week).