Editing moodle activity-module sources

Editing moodle activity-module sources

by J P -
Number of replies: 5

HI everyone! I'm starting with moodle modules development. I previously developed browser's extensions, so I'm not used to IDES and all its related stuff. I'm just a pure js developer, so I need to ask you some very basic questions.

I was provided with a module that I have to modify and fix some bugs. When I run the module, I got an error at certain point of a .js file in the 'js' folder. So I opened the file with a text editor and added a console.log('hello!') before the line the error is thrown. I'm used to just edit and reload the page, but this time is not working. The log is never shown. Should I do extra steps for updating the code in my local server

Moreover, do you know any step-by-step tutorial for module development? (Better if it is a non-IDE explanation). I found some resourcer in official docs, but all of them just describes the files that should be added, not things like the one I'm asking in this post.

Thanks a lot for your tme,

Average of ratings: -
In reply to J P

Re: Editing moodle activity-module sources

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

If you want to debug javascript use the debugger built into a browser (Chrome or Firefox). However most modules only use javascript for a small amount of functionality so you are likely to need to be able to modify and test php code.

In reply to Marcus Green

by J P -

Yep, I did it with the Firefox console. But there is no log. Is it enogh by editing the files in the var/www/html/moodle... files and reload the proper page? nothing extra to do for making valid the changes?

In reply to J P

by Trevor Furtado -
Picture of Plugin developers

You have cleared the cache?

Site Administration > Development > Purge all caches

If you are in a development environment, you should turn off: