New to Moodle - Installation help

New to Moodle - Installation help

by Denver Williams -
Number of replies: 23
Hi all,

I'm new to the Moodle game and had some basic questions about installation.

Firstly, we will be using Moodle to provide online training packages to our customers. At this stage we are looking at setting up a website for the company and then want to have Moodle available to our clients from there so they can access the packages either by using Moodle or by downloading the packages for use on the client's preferred LMS.

So my question is, will I need to install a database on the hosted web server or will this be part of the Moodle install. I have read a few articles on installation and all of them say the database has to be created in advance before running the Moodle install. So my thinking is that I will need to have access to the server (at the OS level) to install the database and associated requirements?

Is my assumption correct?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Denver Williams

Re: New to Moodle - Installation help

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Your assumption is correct.

Moodle is a server application so you *definitely* need access to the server to install it. You need to be able to create the database, create directories, load files and set ownership and permissions. Some of this is security critical too - so if this sounds mysterious allow time for learning it (not onerous) or find a/your server administrator wink

PS. The "one click" installers and scripts for evaluating Moodle on a personal PC are *not* suitable for server installation; in case you are tempted!

In reply to Howard Miller

by Denver Williams -
Thanks Howard,