Where is the SCORM API?

Where is the SCORM API?

by Sharon Boutwell -
Number of replies: 8

HI. I am new to SCORM, web servers and even LMSs.  I have been doing some research and maybe the reason I can't find an answer to this question is that it is so simple that it doesn't bear mentioning.  The question is this: If I download the Moodle install for windows onto our server, where exactly will the API_1484_11 reside.  Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Sharon Boutwell

Re: Where is the SCORM API?

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

I'm not sure why you care?

If you create a SCORM 1.2 package as a zip file you just create a new SCORM activity in Moodle and upload the zip file. 

If you *really* want to look at the code then you'll find it all in the mod/scorm directory. 

In reply to Howard Miller

by Sharon Boutwell -

Maybe a more straight forward way to ask what I want to know is will the API or API_1484_11 reside on our server once Moodle is installed? 

Or another way to put it is -Will Moodle be completely self contained on our server as a LMS once it is installed?

Probably a really dumb question like I said before but I am Just trying to understand it all and wanted to make sure of this point .

Thank-you for your reply. 

by Matteo Scaramuccia -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Sharon,
yes, Moodle will be completely self contained in terms of a SCORM LMS as well as for several other components being Modular i.e. the M in Moodle.

HTH,
Matteo

by Matteo Scaramuccia -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Sharon,
in addition to what already posted, API_1484_11, as you know, is for SCORM 2004, partially supported by Moodle: https://docs.moodle.org/30/en/SCORM_FAQ#Supported_Versions.