Broken Moodle - please help!

Broken Moodle - please help!

by Elaine Topham -
Number of replies: 26

Hello,

Please excuse my lack of knowledge but it is my first time posting here and I am hoping for some help with our Moodle problems ... I would appreciate any help/suggestions at all at this point!

So, to give a little background on the issue, a couple of weeks ago a request came in to reactivate the Calendar block that we had disabled... however, we didn't want to bring it back on all 2000 pages, so someone in the team decided it would be good to delete the block manually and reinstall... this didn't go as planned!!  So we had to manipulate things a little, and eventually "fixed" things.   A week later we attempted to update a plugin, however this appeared to corrupt our Moodle installation and it was stuck in a loop trying to update the Moodle database.  When we got Moodle back up and running, it still wasn't right - please see the print screen attached for an easier explanation of what it looked like.  Our IT guys (they deal with the server side stuff, my team deal with the web administration) attempted to restore Moodle to the backup that was taken at 4am that day, however they experienced problems with this also (I haven't got details about the issue here, sorry)

We were running Moodle 2.9.4 on IIS/SQL Server on 3 virtual servers (clustered?) - forgive my knowledge in this area, I don't deal with this normally!  Something happened to 2 of the clusters, so we have been running Moodle on one since about 15th January.  Last Thursday, something happened and our Moodle went offline and we haven't been able to revive it since!