NTLM SSO

NTLM SSO

by Alek Steva -
Number of replies: 9

Dear all,

Let me firstly emphasize that I'm new to Linux and Moodle community, so pardon my lack of respective knowledge.

Despite of all of that, I have to enable NTML SSO on previously successfully enabled LDAP on Moodle.

So my environment consists of:

1. Windows AD

2. Moodle 2.9 on Ubuntu 14.04. server with LAMP, added to AD via Centrify Express.

As I mentioned LDAP is working and for the NTLM SSO, I've tried next settings:

• LDAP User attribute: samaccountname
  • NTLM SSO: enable: Yes, subnet: local subnet 192.168.1.0/24, MS IE fast path: Attempt NTLM with all browsers, Authentication: NTLM, Remote username format: blank.

I've followed NTLM authentication document https://docs.moodle.org/30/en/NTLM_authentication (tried to follow Using the NTLM part of Samba for Apache on Linux part best that I can), but unfortunately SSO is not working.

I've tried php script, mentioned somewhere in forum, which says "NTLM is not working".

Is it to do with the fact I've used Centrify or shall I start troubleshooting with something else?

Thank you very much for kind help for Linux & Moodle novice guy smile

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Alek Steva

Re: NTLM SSO

by Dave Perry -
Picture of Testers

If a reliable test script failed, it's probably your web server configuration that isn't correct. I had to get some help internally making it work under Apache for Windows, someone else found the magic <Location> lines. I could grab and share them, but I believe you need a different Apache module for Linux-based SSO.

In reply to Dave Perry

by Alek Steva -

Regarding Apache on Ubuntu 14.04, I've done the following:

1. apache2.conf has:

<IfModule !mod_auth_ntlm_winbind.c>
    LoadModule auth_ntlm_winbind_module /usr/lib/apache2/modules/mod_auth_ntlm_winbind.so
</IfModule>

<Directory "/var/www/moodle/auth/ldap/">
    <Files ntlmsso_magic.php>
        NTLMAuth on
        AuthType NTLM