Generico Showcase

Re: Generico Showcase

by Michael Milette -
Number of replies: 5
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hi Miguel,

Moodle is mostly written in PHP. You can learn how to develop in Moodle by going to https://learn.moodle.org and taking the free self-paced Moodle plugin development basics course.

Also read Getting started in Moodle Development

Hope you find this useful.

Best regards,

Michael Milette
In reply to Michael Milette

by Miguel Bejarano -

Excellent,  Michael, thanks. I had always believed that PHP was a startup file (like index.html).

Now, I have a trial version of Moodle on a server, and I am an administrator there. But at school, I am a teacher who does not have access to the Moodle administration; only to the administration of the course.

So, before starting, I want to know if PHP can be immersed in the course activities, without having to install anything; because the school has its rules and does not want to install additional things.

Thanks

(Google translation, so I hope it is clear)

In reply to Miguel Bejarano

by Michael Milette -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hi Miguel,

Moodle requires a web server which include Apache, a database server like MySQL or PostgreSQL and PHP. These need to run on a computer or virtual machine running Linux or Windows connected to a network or the Internet. The number of active concurrent users will determind the configuration requirements of the environment (CPU, Memory, etc). For example, you could run Moodle on as little as a Raspberry PI or a laptop, but you may not be able to support more than a few active concurrent users and it will require a static IP address (one that does not change).