New comer, how to modify the look of plugins!

New comer, how to modify the look of plugins!

by Nadirshah Ferozepurwalla -
Number of replies: 7

Hello users,

I have to customize the UI, look and feel of a running moodle site catering a thousand students, my first requirement is to understand and change the look and feel of a few free plugins installed on the schools moodle site.

I went through the developer docs but could find any specific instruction saying how to add css for plugins.

Yes there are themes , but does this mean that all plugins must have the UI altered using additional/custom CSS, or can the plugin code be joined with a specific CSS present within the specific plugin folder.

I am not a core programmer but trying to help out, so what am i missing here? or am i right in saying that

"a plugin can only be functionality with no formatting, UI needs to be altered using css and html tags, chrome firefox developer tools ?

Please guide

Thankyou,

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Nadirshah Ferozepurwalla

Re: New comer, how to modify the look of plugins!

by Richard Oelmann -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Plugins can include a css file, but that would mean having to monitor and amend every plugin individually at any upgrade.

It is far more common to use the theme to override the plugin css and create the overall look and feel of the site as a whole, including the plugins being used.

If you have access to the code files (which you would need to amend the plugin css) then you don't necessarily have to use the customcss theme setting, you could create a plugins.css file (or one for each plugin), add it to the styles folder of your theme and reference the files in the theme config.php - OR use the additional customcss setting smile

Richard

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Richard Oelmann

by Davo Smith -