New setup questions

New setup questions

by Chris Cormier -
Number of replies: 16

Hi All

I am new to moodle and have been trying to google alot of info lately and feel like I am falling further and further down a rabbit hole where every new link I open leads me to open 3 more links trying to get info on what I just read. Seems neverending lol. Because of this I was hoping some very kind individuals can help point me in the right direction.

Some background - We have been using Rackspace as our infrastructure on our projects for a while. We will setup moodle instance in there. In fact we already do have a low priority single server setup done but we are looking for something much more robust. The current plan is as follows:

1 Load Balancer

2 Web servers

1 High availability cloud database with auto failover

1 File server with an additional server acting as a mirror for a manual failover.

Some questions I have come up with as I was looking into things:

1 - I have seen terms like memcache and clustering thrown around. Do I need to do anything special given I have 2 web servers behind a load balancer? I believe I understand memcache is not an absolute requirement but can speed things up. If I did want to use it, it would be installed on its own server? Does load balancing the servers require me to do anything special to handle sessions or is that handled by the load balancer?

2 - I believe I am doing it right having one file server that will connect to both web servers so they share the data. Is there a way to configure it to use two file servers? Right now this is the weak point in the architecture. Is this where clustering comes in? Is there some option in a config to specify use file server X but failover to Y if X is not available?