Automated course back-up: 'Save to' location

Automated course back-up: 'Save to' location

by Joanna Beaver -
Number of replies: 9
Picture of Plugin developers
I have set automated course backups that are running as scheduled, but my 'Save to' link is not working. Could anyone tell me which URL should be pasted into there? I use a hosted/shared server. I have tried using the URL for my local computer but it is not working and I guess a server link is required but with it being hosted/shared I am unsure which link to put in. Any advice appreciated! Thank you smile
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Joanna Beaver

Re: Automated course back-up: 'Save to' location

by Joanna Beaver -

Hello, I wondered if anybody can help me? I have been talking to my hosting provider since 24/07/2015 but to no avail.

I have explained that I need the URL to a file on the server in which I will direct the automated course back up to store its back up files, and I believe it should look something like this: /srv/clientdata/na01/webinarssb/autobackups. 

At the moment I can only generate an sftp URL from Filezilla that looks something like this: sftp://u78936019@s520393070.websitehome.co.uk/backup. Moodle doesn't seem to accept it (I get the x at the side rather than ✓)

They have said today:

"The automated back up will only be saved in the Moodle dashboard therefore it is not possible to access it via a Web URL. However you can copy the back up files then save it on your PC or you can also manually download the back up copy of the files then reupload it into the webspace place it in the folder /backup. If you really want to access the back up files through a Web URL then we suggest that you can contact Moodle Support about this. Thank you."