Comparisons and advocacy

Drupal or Moodle for platform with repositories plus learning tools? Experiences and advice asked.

Picture of Brendan Anderson
Re: Drupal or Moodle for platform with repositories plus learning tools? Experiences and advice asked.

"... but I thought it wise to also invite in-depth experiences by seasoned users."

I think truly seasoned users of both systems are going to be rare. I am actually an experienced Drupal developer who has recently been tasked with maintaining a Moodle installation. So my experience is heavy on the Drupal  and light on the Moodle. These are my thoughts for what they are worth:

The best thing about Drupal is it's community. It's active and gigantic. There are tons of excellent modules that add bits of functionality that you can use to build just about anything you can imagine. This makes Drupal super flexible. If the module you need does not exist, development is easy and straightforward, the API is well documented and there is a ton of learning material to consume. Dev learning curve is steep but climbable and you can probably hire a developer with Drupal experience tomorrow. But you basically get very little out of the box. You get a first rate permission system, a flexible content model, an OK block system and a decent theming system. You have to build everything else out of contributed modules and your own custom modules.