Upgrading from 2.0 to 2.5, simple?

Upgrading from 2.0 to 2.5, simple?

by Gilles Gagnon -
Number of replies: 25
Good morning Folks,
I have a client's site which runs Moodle 2.0.  In order to offer a new Articulate Quiz which is Mobile friendly, I need Tin Can API support.
From my understanding, this can be done in Moodle via a plugin but Moodle requires 2.5.

If all above is correct, is the upgrade path from Moodle 2.0 to 2.5 a simple one?

Cheers,
Gilles
PS. Note that I'm not a Moodle expert, but a beginner.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Gilles Gagnon

Re: Upgrading from 2.0 to 2.5, simple?

by Albert Ramsbottom -

Hi

You can only upgrade from 2.2 to 2.5 so you will need to upgrade from 2.0 to 2.2 first

I believe

https://docs.moodle.org/25/en/Upgrading

Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to Albert Ramsbottom

by Gilles Gagnon -

Thanks Albert!

In this case, my question is...

Understanding I must firest upgrade from 2.0 to 2.2.... How big a task is it to upgrade a small Moodle 2.0 site to the latest 2.9 ?

by Bret Miller -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

In either case, you must upgrade to 2.2 before you can upgrade past that. For a small site, it may not be that painful, but it depends more on the plugins and theme the site uses. There were major theme changes in 2.7 so you will almost certainly have to pick a new theme. Just make sure you read the upgrade instructions. And, even though you are skipping versions, you should read the instructions for each version in between. Sometimes there are steps that need to be performed after an upgrade. Many of us would say it is safer to upgrade one version at a time, but the official position is that you can upgrade from 2.2.x to 2.9.x.