Daily News

Daily News

by Hannah Hutton -
Number of replies: 13

Hello, I'm new to Moodle (using 2.7.7) and would like to include a daily news area for our students.  We are a secondary school with 1100 students, and currently using a system where we can do this.  Staff input their message, along with the dates they want the note to appear (so they can input a message far in advance), and it doesn't require any looking after as it runs by itself.  So I'm trying to reproduce something similar on Moodle and can't work out how to do this.  It is vital for our school - it is the only way we communicate daily messages to our students.  It's in one central place, and tutors go through these messages during morning registration, but because it's public, students (and parents), can view these at any time.

Does anyone have some advice on how I can set this up?

Many thanks!

Hannah

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Hannah Hutton

Re: Daily News

by Andy Chaplin -

A great point Hannah!

You can set just about any activity to appear and disappear at a specific time, but the Front Page News is instant.  It would be really useful to be able to set a time limit on this.

I'd also be interested to know if there is a plugin for this.

by Just H -
Can't say I remember coming across anything along those lines but the first thing that popped into my head if there isn't any existing functionality would be to install a mini "News site" with a publishing workflow (I'd use Drupal just because that's what I'm more comfortable with) and give authoring rights to relevant staff. Then in Moodle use something like the RSS Plus plugin to grab the content.

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Just thinking aloud really... is this something you can achieve with the Moodle Calendar? Not exactly perhaps, but it may fit your needs more closely.