Set-up Moodle on Local Network

Set-up Moodle on Local Network

by Bill Meador -
Number of replies: 15

I have downloaded and installed the Mac OSX MAMP with Moodle and it works fine.....except that it is only available on the one system.  I admit that I am a novice at setting up Apache, PHP, MySQL, and Moodle, and hoped that this single installer would be the answer.

Can someone tell me how, or give me information on where to find the instructions, to make this installation available to the rest of the computers on my classroom network?  Or is this even possible?

Thanks,

Bill

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Bill Meador

Re: Set-up Moodle on Local Network

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

When you originally set up mamp, did you set it up for external access or just accessible from your computer?

You should be able to reach it by finding the ip address of your computer and using that to access from other computers on same network.

In reply to Emma Richardson

by Bill Meador -

Thanks,  but I do not get any install options........for the Mac installer the set•up is to drag the MAMP icon to the Applications folder, then when I start MAMP, the Moodle installation occurs automatically when I click on the Moodle link......no options are offered.  I tried it three times, and never saw any options for setting in IP, must be for a different installation.

Bill

In reply to Bill Meador

by Robert Brenstein -
MAMP-based installation is really meant for local usage, like testing or course development. The setup as provided is not quite safe for production (that is access by others), although with know-how one can make it more secure. However, if it works locally, it should also be accessible from other computers if the configuration is right. I mean configurations of Moodle and Apache.
In reply to Robert Brenstein

by Bill Meador -