iframes, Questionnaire, site policies

iframes, Questionnaire, site policies

by Matt Fedorko -
Number of replies: 7

All, I'm not sure which version of Moodle I'm using -- it's not my "normal Moodle," but a project that I'm working on, and I'm just a Teacher. Pretty sure it's some flavor of 2.6. (Maybe there's a way to figure it out without being an admin? Would appreciate knowing).

I've got an open post over in the Questionnaire forum about youtube videos not embedding there because, I think, it's stripping the iframe (https://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=310668). I'm working on what to do if the problem isn't repairable from the Questionnaire side of things, and I stumbled upon two settings in the Site Admin > Security > Site Policies section that might help me, and I was wondering if anyone could illuminate me:

1. Allow EMBED and OBJECT tags -- I don't think this is the ticket, but maybe so.

2. Enable trusted content. -- https://docs.moodle.org/22/en/Site_policies#Enable_trusted_content

My reading of that seems to say that if I have the admin give "Teachers"  the appropriate Capability (or create a special role that's a clone of Teachers with the added capability that the Docs mentions), then turn that setting on, then iframes won't be scrubbed from Questionnaires. Is that accurate?

I will be trying to test this out if I can on a different Moodle, but I was hoping someone could just tell me as well, so I know if it'll work on this other Moodle.

Thanks.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Matt Fedorko

Re: iframes, Questionnaire, site policies

by Matt Fedorko -

I tried my solution on my own Moodle (2.6.9 with an up-to-date Questionnaire plugin), and it did not work. I'm not sure if it would work in other places where iframes may be getting stripped, but it had no affect on Questionnaires. 

In reply to Matt Fedorko

by john Simpson -