Inclusion of lib.php in settings.php

Inclusion of lib.php in settings.php

by Simon Vart -
Number of replies: 7

Hello, 

I'm starting building a new theme. I'm fairly new to Moodle. I had read a lot about it without trying it.

So now, i'm into it. Question :

I have created a generic function in lib.php which I need in : lib.php (for custom $THEME->csspostprocess) and in settings.php to generate settings.

My understand was that lib.php was including in each request, so my functions would have been accessible in settings.php. But they are not. I have undefine_functions error.

If I do require_once("$CFG->dirroot/theme/solerni/lib.php"), it works.

So, why is that my lib.php isn't included in settings.php (or called after it) ? 

Maybe I don't get yet how the differents pages and functions are loaded in Moodle (or if maybe my function is accessible via a global object ?).

If someone experienced could help me understand...

Regards

Simon

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Simon Vart

Re: Inclusion of lib.php in settings.php

by David Mudrák -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Plugins guardians Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

To be completely honest, I also lived in impression that lib.php files are included from all plugins on all requests. But Moodle seems to be more clever than that. The lib.php files are actually loaded only when needed (e.g. course format's lib.php is not loaded unless you are in a course that uses that format). But that is still quite often for many plugin types. For example the navigationlib loads lib.php files for all plugin types that are able to inject their own nodes into the navigation tree (the file must be loaded to see if the corresponding *_extend_navigation() function is provided).