Enrolment/role(s) of teachers so that they can self-manage?

Enrolment/role(s) of teachers so that they can self-manage?

by Alan Prefontaine -
Number of replies: 2

To start, thanks for taking the time to read this lengthy post.

Quick background about me: I am in IT and therefore familiar with setting up and configuring web technologies, though I am not a developer. I am new to Moodle. I have been googling for hours, and poring over the excellent Moodle documentation, yet I cannot figure out whether the business case that we are looking to achieve is possible without additional coding.

We want to set up Moodle so that departments are able to load their own training materials and make them available to their people; specifically, we would like a manager to be able to create a course(s) in Moodle and then add their staff as students to that course. Courses, course content and student creation is to be all self-managed by each department.

The challenge that we have is twofold:

1. Managers/teachers/students must not be aware of other courses, students or teachers in the system (other than those in the current class). We want it to appear as if each department is accessing Moodle independently of all other departments. The only time that this might change would be if a company-wide course is made available to everyone.
  2. A type of billing occurs between departments. The decision has been made to set certain billing/student caps based on department size.
We are running Wordpress internally. From my research I believe that I can configure SSO between Wordpress \( \rightarrow \) Moodle. The flow that we would like to achieve is as follows. Please let me know if something along these lines is possible. As I'm currently learning about Moodle, please excuse any misuse of terminology. It's the general overview that matters.

1. Department purchases a course through Wordpress. Would they be "sold" an enrolment key based on department size?