Site settings for "Main" course

Site settings for "Main" course

by Lindsay Magnus -
Number of replies: 0
I have tried to think what is the best place to post this and as it concerns the main course format of the front page I have posted it here.

In the "site settings option" of the of the site configuration one can set various options for "Front page format:". This typically controls how the front page is displayed either as news items or courses etc.

I have noticed that when I login as an administrator I am shown all the available courses but if I login as a normal user I am only shown the course for which I am registered together with the course summary.

I have found that this makes navigation to other courses cumbersome for new users, old hats will most probably add a "courses block" to the front page but I find the layout and simplicity of the "available courses" option to be better than the "my courses" information.

To that end I have edited the index.php file to be the following

///            if (isloggedin() && !isset($USER->admin) && empty($CFG->disablemycourses)) {
///                print_heading_block(get_string('mycourses'));
///                print_my_moodle();
///            } else {
                if (count_records('course_categories') > 1) {
                    if ($CFG->frontpage == FRONTPAGECOURSELIST) {
                        print_heading_block(get_string('availablecourses'));
                    } else {
                        print_heading_block(get_string('categories'));
                    }
                    print_simple_box_start('center', '100%', '', 5, 'categorybox');
                    print_whole_category_list();
                    print_simple_box_end();
                    print_course_search('', false, 'short');
                } else {
                    print_heading_block(get_string('availablecourses'));
                    print_courses(0, '100%');
                }
///            }